The Sun Is Also A Star – By Nicola Yoon

Purchased, borrowed or given? Purchased.

Publishing house/ company? Corgi.

The number bits?: 9780552574242

Awards?: Not yet, or at least not that I know of 😉

SYNOPSIS:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store―for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

INITIAL THOUGHTS:

Well, let me start off with: I love Nicola Yoon. Love. Her. Her other book (“Everything Everything”) gave me book withdrawal symptoms for days. Also, she stands for “We need diverse books” (@ http://weneeddiversebooks.org/) which I WHOLEHEARTEDLY agree with. So yeah. I love Nicola Yoon already XD.

Also, from right off the shelf, and I know we shouldn’t judge books by their cover and all, BUT THE COVER IS BEAUTIFUL! So damn pretty.

CHARACTER DESCRIPTION

If the synopsis didn’t make it obvious enough, we follow two characters, Natasha and Daniel. Natasha is Jamaican and on the verge of being deported and Daniel is the son of Korean immigrants. The character development is really smooth (claps to you Mrs Yoon) and I love how Natasha begrudgingly begins to like Daniel. (Quick thing btw: I will try to with hold from any spoilers in my reviews, but for this one, as a romance, its obvious they’re going to fall for each other XP) .

Another Really Amazing Thing is that this book is unconventional in writing style. I have to admit, I thought my idea of following background characters and giving history behind everything was original, but turns out, Nicola Yoon had the same idea. Oh whale, she writes better than I ever could, so props to her. But yeah, she gives history behind the characters you would sometimes wonder about, but then forget, AND I LOVE IT.

THOUGHTS WHILE READING

It takes a while to get into the full swing of things. Or at least, it took me a while. I think its because as there’s two main POVs (point of views) its difficult for the story to really get going because you have essentially more to write, and less ‘space’ to do it. I’m finding this way too difficult to explain, sorry. But, it does give the story a stage.

It includes actual Korean words! And if you’re like me and is an obsessive kpop stan, you understand all of them! (See, Mother, kpop is beneficial to my education) It includes little cultural snippets, and any reliable educating about other cultures is good educating in my mind.

The ending is a bit abrupt, however. Is it just me? Maybe its because I was looking for a shippable couple at the end of this, I don’t know. I loooved everything up to the ending because it seemed a bit rushed to me.

THE ACTUAL PLOT

The actual plot is original and quirky, and not least because its a tad political. The dialogue and events and referencing are all incredibly realistic, which is like +100 points, and who wants to bet with me that it will be made into teen romance movie within the next five years?

CONSTRUCTIVE CRITISMS

I get that it’s always ‘show not tell’, but maybe for a complicated deportation theme, a bit of ‘here let me dump you with the facts’ isn’t a bad idea.

And I just really really hoped for a cute lil lovey-dovey scene, but did I get one? Mmm, not much of one. Maybe even just one last picnic together, or one last coffee together? I mean, if that had happened I’d be complaining because I cried so much, so perhaps I’m being a picky brat hehe.

AND REALLY HANNAH WINTER GOT THE HAPPY ENDING? NONONONONO.

BUT, I GUESS ITS OK, IRENE MADE UP FOR IT.

FINAL THOUGHTS

I needed to go to the doctor for book withdrawal symptoms and obsessive re-reading.

RATING & RECOMMENDATIONS

A strong 4.00 out of 5.00.

Highly recommended for teens either interested in different cultures, looking for a new take on a generic genre, or people looking for a damn good story to occupy themselves with.

(And then look all over Tumblr for fanart.)

(And when said fanart is not found, fanart is drawn)

This book is a light read, but heavy emotionally, and pulls and pushes you back and forth, so you eventually end up wanting more!

Okay that was not meant to rhyme but oh fish XD

Thanks for reading if you got down here!

-Emma xx

P.S IN OTHER NEWS I GOT CACTI! EEK! Aren’t they adorable XD

cacti

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

My Bookish Life

Discover Your Inner Reader

Just Call me Elm Or Something

I messed the last two names up anyway

Read at Midnight

Fantasy, SciFi and Young adult book reviews

Read Diverse Books

Let's Read The World

:: bookslayerReads ::

My Life in All Things Bookish

Stories and Spoons

My mad life as a girl who loves to read, living with multiple Chronic Illnesses

